Webinar Invitation: Quakers Coming Together to Care for the Earth, July 29

Webinar Invitation: Quakers Coming Together to Care for the Earth, July 29

Throughout 2018 several public Friends came together via video conference calls and one face-to-face meeting to discuss what we as Quakers are called to do about the interlocking ecological issues affecting all of creation. Participants of this group include Friends across the Quaker spectrum including those affiliated with Evangelical Friends of North America, Friends United Meeting, Friends General Conference, and other unaffiliated Friends. The group worked with FWCC to produce a short video Quakers Coming Together to Care for the Earth, which showcases Friends from across Quaker theological traditions in North America sharing their personal testimonies on environmental justice, earthcare and stewardship.

We invite you to join us for a webinar on Monday July 29, 2019 to learn more about the work of this group of Friends and to find out how you can use this new video resource to support conversations about environmental justice, earthcare and stewardship in your own meeting or church. Please register your interest here.

During this webinar, we will hear from two members of the group, Adrian Halverstadt, Director of Evangelical Friends Church - North America, and Lindsey Fielder Cook, Representative for Climate Change at the Quaker United Nations Office, Geneva.

The webinar will take place at 16:00 UTC. It will also be recorded and made available afterwards for those who cannot attend. A selection of the different time zones are listed below. To find your local time zone, please click here.

San Francisco: 09:00
Kansas City: 11:00
New York: 12:00
London: 17:00
Bonn: 18:00
Nairobi: 19:00
Delhi: 21:30

To register and receive the link to join, please email sustainability@fwcc.world.

The webinar is open to all and will be conducted in English. If you wish to request a future webinar to be held in another language, please get in touch: sustainability@fwcc.world.

For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the children of God.... We know that the whole creation has been groaning in labor pains until now; and not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit.

Romans 8:19, 22–23a

“It would go a long way to caution and direct people in their use of the world, that they were better studied and knowing in the Creation of it. For how could [they] find the confidence to abuse it, while they should see the great Creator stare them in the face, in all and every part of it?”

William Penn,1693